Southern Fried Recipes.

Ah, the age-old question: if you were sitting on death row, what would you order for your last meal? Many people struggle with this question (especially “foodies”), and with good reason. How do you pick a final meal that will be completely satisfying, and encompass all your favorite foods, without leaving something out?

Me? I don’t struggle with this question. I’d order chicken and waffles (fried, not smothered), cornbread, grits, fried pickles, red velvet cake, and a gallon of sweet tea to wash it all down. And don’t forget the butter and the Crystal’s.

Notice a trend?

For my first official date with Connor, we went to Amy Ruth’s, one of my two favorite southern restaurants in NYC. The day my mom passed away, one of my best friends bought me a bag full of goodies from Amy Ruth’s to cheer me up. I once spent $50 to have my other favorite southern restaurant in NYC, Daisy May’s, deliver beer can chicken, mac & cheese, collard greens, cole slaw, cornbread, and sweet tea IN A MASOR JAR all the way to the Upper West Side because I was sick and confined to my apartment. I made Shrimp & Grits Eggs Benedict for Christmas morning brunch. For breakfast this morning, I made eggs, bacon, toast, grits, and fried green tomatoes. (Well, they were fried green tomatillos I got at the farmers market, but close enough.)

So for this week’s roundup, I’m sharing some southern-inspired recipes I can’t wait to try. Hopefully not for my last meal on death row.

Sweet Tea Tiramisu by Apple a Day

Individual Peaches and Cream Cobblers (in mason jars!) by Life, in Recipes

Red Velvet Cheesecake, by Sugar and Charm

Peach Whiskey Barbecue Chicken, by The Pioneer Woman

Lighter Saucy Catfish, by The Deen Bros.

Okra Fritters, by Southern Lady

5 thoughts on “Southern Fried Recipes.

  1. Pingback: Shrimp and Grits Eggs Benedict. « Princess Aioli | A Food Blog

Tell me your thoughts!

